Livingston County Area News Archive

Search News Archive

Browse by Month


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Worker Killed On South Lyon Repaving Project

South Lyon Police say the 20-year-old Detroit man was working as a flagger on a repaving project on Pontiac Trail, north of 11 Mile, when a semi-truck delivering asphalt backed over him at around 10:30am.

Warrant Amnesty Day Set Thursday

The program offers waivers of late fees to individuals upon payment of fines and costs in full, for a one-day period only, this Thursday from 8am to 4pm.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Brennan Ordered Removed From Divorce Case

The Michigan Supreme Court “of its own volition” ordered that the case be removed from 53rd District Court Judge Theresa Brennan’s docket and assigned to a different judge.

Monday, May 21, 2018

St. Joseph Mercy Livingston Hosting Hernia Night

The free event will provide information to members of the community seeking relief from hernia-related symptoms and also feature robotically-trained St. Joe’s surgeons demonstrating the da Vinci™ Surgical System.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Brighton Rescinds Pool Fee For District Residents

Board members stated that since district residents' taxes helped pay for the pool as part of the $88.5 million bond issue passed by voters in 2012, they should have the right to use the pool free of charge.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Friday, May 18, 2018

Thursday, May 17, 2018

National Poppy Day Honors Veterans

The poppy is worn in remembrance of veterans who sacrificed their lives and in support of the future of veterans, active-duty military, and their families.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Brighton Man Will Tell Father's Amazing WWII Story

Warren Carah, will tell the amazing story of his father, WWII Airman John Carah. After his B-17 was shot down over France in 1943, he parachuted to safety, was rescued by the French Underground, and made his way to safety in Switzerland, where he worked for the precursor to the CIA.

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Monday, May 14, 2018

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Saturday, May 12, 2018

Friday, May 11, 2018

Warrant Amnesty Day Set Later This Month

The 53rd District Court announced the amnesty program for those who are delinquent on payments to the court. The program offers waivers of late fees to individuals upon payment of fines and costs in full, for a one-day period only.

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Bishop Questions USDA Research Using Cats

The 8th District Republican this week sent a letter to Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue seeking information about what he called, “secretive and problematic experiments" on cats and kittens being performed at a U.S. Department of Agriculture laboratory.

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Fenton Twp. Teen Bound Over For Trial In Murder Of Friend

On Monday, 67th District Court Judge David Guin ruled there was probable cause to send 17-year old Abdurrahman Ahmed Akl to trial in Genesee County Circuit Court on second degree murder in the shooting death of 18-year-old Brady Morris.

Monday, May 7, 2018

Sunday, May 6, 2018

Border Cantina Liquor License Transferred

The Brighton City Council has approved a liquor license transfer for the company that plans to convert the vacant Border Cantina restaurant into a contemporary country music venue with live entertainment, a restaurant and lounge.

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Friday, May 4, 2018

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

Burn Bans Declared In Several Local Communities

Officials say conditions over the next few days will actually be right for grass and field fires to spread more quickly and advise residents to check with their local departments if a burn ban is in effect.